A long-overdue update; M.C.A. Hogarth and John Campbell

This is a post to let everyone know I’m not dead. Outcast is currently in the editing queue, waiting very patiently for its turn. It’s taking a little longer than I expected, but while I wait, I’ve been reading stuff by M.C.A. Hogarth and “Who Goes There?” by John Campbell. (Not the name the story is written under, btw. It was written under the penname Don A. Stuart.)

M.C.A. Hogarth’s space operas are good! Her books deal with things in a way that I haven’t encountered before in this genre. I highly recommend taking a look, especially her Dreamhealers series. Very gentle, very soft, but also very good.

“Who Goes There?” is…different. It’s written in an older style with a lot more telling than showing and reminds me a lot of Paul Gallico’s work or Lovecraft. Sometimes the scene breaks don’t make any sense, and the description doesn’t give me nearly enough to go on to know what’s happening, especially during the action scenes, but then, I haven’t finished it yet. It’s good, though. Very gripping, very tense, and I’m enjoying it a lot.

Believe it or not, I might be reading Fight Club (a non-space opera, non-science fantasy book) next. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

