Genetics, Genomes, and Plants

I’ve been reading some really great books lately about the human genome and how cells work in plants. Teaming with Nutrients by Jeff Lowenfels is that last one, and the great thing about it is that it’s written for gardeners, so everything learned is immediately applicable to the world outside. If you have any interest in learning why fertilizers work the way they do, why deficiencies show up the way they do, or just want to know how amazing plants are, this is a great place to start.

Genomes and What to Make of Them, by Barry Barnes and John Dupre, is the other one. It’s a bit older than the current research, but not too much older, and I like how the authors point out what’s still unknown and where scientists disagree. I’ve never cared much for books that make it sound like science is some great progression from knowledge to knowledge with only those awful Christians against it. Yes, we progress from knowledge to knowledge, but the process is messy with no one really sure at times what’s going on or why and with all sorts of theories shoved into those gaps.

And I’m still not done.

I know this is a space opera book and I’ve heard that science is optional in that genre, but even if this “science” is crazy, I don’t want it to be so unbelievable that it distracts from the story.

Will I succeed? I don’t know. I do know I put writing on hold for two days while I got a stronger footing in this topic, and, as I said, I’m still not done. But I’ve done enough to get back to work.

Current word count: 25,356

Target Word Count (total) for the upcoming week: 40,000

Leave a Reply

